Tahitian and co

Learn Tahitian with Tahitian and Co

Learn how to say the archipelagos of French Polynesia in Tahitian

The archipelagos of French Polynesia in Tahitian

In this lesson, we will learn the archipelagos of French Polynesia in Tahitian.


When we talk about Tahiti with a foreigner, my perception is that he understands Tahiti as another country like France or Italy.

Let’s put things straight: Tahiti is part of the islands of French Polynesia which has 118 islands.

French Polynesia

In this first part, let’s describe French Polynesia.

French Polynesia :

  • has 118 islands
  • extends over an area as vast as Europe
    • Sayint island, it also means an ocean which surrounds it. Thus, despite the extent of Polynesia, the 118 islands are dotted in the Pacific Ocean.
  • includes 5 archipelagos
    • among which the 118 islands are distributed

The archipelagos of French Polynesia in Tahitian

You get there ! Finally !

The objective of this lesson is to learn the 5 archipelagos of French Polynesia in Tahitian.

In this second part, here is the vocabulary of our lesson:

Tahitian English
Te fenua Enata, henua ‘enana The Marquesas archipelago
Te mau motu Tuamotu The Tuamotu archipelago
Mangareva ma The Gambier archipelago
Totaiete ma The Society Archipelago
Tuha’a pae The Austral archipelago

French Polynesia map to locate Tahiti

The archipelagos of the Society are divided into 2 categories. Here they are :

Tahitian English
Te motu ni’a mata’i Windward Islands
Te motu raro mata’i Leeward Islands

Society islands map to locate Tahiti

Tahiti is one of the Windward Islands.

Tahiti map

Among this vocabulary, we already know:

Another basic vocabulary is:

Tahitian English
Te motu The island

The main islands by archipelago

In this third part: below is the list of the main islands by archipelago.

  • The Society Archipelago:
    • Windward Islands: Tahiti, Moorea, Tetiaroa
    • Leeward Islands: Huahine, Raiatea, Taha’a, Bora Bora, Maupiti
  • The Tuamotu archipelago: Rangiroa, Tikehau, Manihi, Fakarava …
  • The Gambier archipelago: Mangareva
  • Also he Marquesas archipelago: Hiva Oa, Tahuata, Nuku Hiva, Ua Huka, Ua Pou, Fatu Hiva
  • And the Austral archipelago: Tubuai

And after ?

With this lesson, we have just learned to say the archipelagos in Tahitian, the archipelagos of French Polynesia in Tahitian. And also, we learned 8 vocabulary words and expressions.